Checklist

If I’m really going to keep myself accountable, I should probably start with a checklist, eh?

I’ll start with a little scenario about this house. It is a mere 20 years old, but looks like it’s been through a hurricane. Part of that is having three absolutely insane kids, but part of that the 90’s style, the builder’s idiocy (bad ceiling and ZERO storage. WTF!?), the previous owner’s “upgrade”,  and the design of the house – a split level with 2 bedrooms up and 2 down.  We clearly weren’t thinking about kids when we bought this house. Little kids don’t want to sleep downstairs. In the dark. Alone. So all five of us are shoved into two bedrooms upstairs.

Aside from aesthetic upgrades to this house, I personally just want to get more organized. I’ve been purging a lot of stuff and it feels GOOD! It’s one thing when I have stuff, but then there are kids stuff, hubby’s stuff, stuff to file, etc. Whenever I find the time to organize, I get so deep into it, I make a worse mess! And of course I end up trashing all progress, throwing it all in a box (or six) setting it aside not remembering where anything is days later. I’m a mess.

Flylady.net has been a blessing. I found out about that site maybe 7 years or so ago, before I even had kids. I needed it badly then so you can imagine how bad I need it now. They even have their schedule in a free Cozi app. I don’t do it every day, but I think of it often which motivates me to do something around the house every day over and above the usual dishes and laundry which, let’s face it, is sometimes all we have time for right there!

So, in the most simplest of terms, my goals are:

  • create a consistent daily cleaning routine
  • PURGE all my “stuff”
  • upgrade the house however I can on our very tight budget
  • find myself again

I’m a mom first and I know that my habits, good or bad, are watched closely by these little beings. This all is mainly for my sanity, but I want to be a good role model for the kids. After all, something needs to balance out my horrible habit of swearing.

Leave a comment